Directors are elected by the District’s ratepayers to serve three-year terms. Any qualified District elector may run to serve a three-year term as one of the five members of the Kennewick Irrigation District Board of Directors. The terms are staggered so that at least one position is up for election each year.

Gene Huffman


Mr. Huffman has an educational background in Agriculture and has owned and operated a farm raising alfalfa, apples and onions. He worked as an electrical troubleshooter and service manager dealing with all phases of irrigation from design to implementation, as a heavy-duty mechanic and as a realtor. He served 20 years on a rural school board. Mr. Huffman is President of the Board and chairs the Realty Committee.
Dean Dennis

Vice President

Mr. Dennis is a long time resident of the Tri-Cities and has been elected to return to the position of KID Director. Previously, he served on the Board briefly in 2012 by appointment of the Benton County Board of Commissioners. He is the Vice President of the Board, and serves on the Realty Committee.
Kirk Rathbun

Mr. Rathbun is a farmer raising alfalfa hay, timothy hay, potatoes, and other rotation crops. He is also a land developer and water purveyor in Benton County. Mr. Rathbun chairs the Finance Committee.
David McKenzie

Mr. McKenzie owned and operated a John Deere dealership. He now manages his family farm raising cherries, grapes, hay and cattle. Mr. McKenzie is a past President of the Board and chairs the Operations and Engineering Committee.
Jim Holmes

Mr. Holmes has an educational background in Engineering. He has worked extensively in Farm Development & Operations in the Red Mountain Area since 1972. He worked in Research and Development Management at General Electric, Battelle Northwest, North American Aviation, and Westinghouse Hanford. He served as a board member on the Washington Wine Commission, Red Mountain AVA Alliance, Washington Growers League and Past Vice President for the Washington Wine Association. Mr. Holmes serves on the Operations and Engineering Committee.