Candidates for the Kennewick Irrigation District Board of Directors positions to be filled at the KID annual election on Tuesday, December 11, 2012 were announced at the Board of Directors meeting today.

The candidates for Position 2 are Patrick McGuire and James E. Wade.  The term for this position is three years beginning the first Tuesday in January 2013.

The candidates for Position 4 are Dean L. Dennis, P. Hermanson, and Dale A. Walter.  The remaining term for this position is one year beginning the first Tuesday in January 2013.

Only one candidate, Gene A. Huffman, was nominated for Position 5.  Pursuant to RCW 87.03.075, Mr. Huffman was declared to have been elected as Director for Position 5, and, as such, Position 5 will not be included on the ballot.

Any qualified district elector who certifies that they cannot conveniently be present on the day of election may vote by absentee ballot.  A ballot and form of certificate of qualifications will be furnished upon receipt of written request being made to the Secretary/Manager of the District.

Absentee ballots issued for requests received after 5:00 p.m. on December 6th must be picked up in person from the District office.

Absentee ballot request forms are available from, at District office or by calling 509-586-9111.